Southeastern States Eligible For $8.6 Billion In Funding to Expand High-Speed Internet Access

Picture of Office of Communications

Office of Communications

States of the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) Eligible for New Funding to Expand Broadband Access.

(Columbia, SC) – The Biden-Harris Administration announced a new investment of $42.5 billion for the Broadband Equity Access and Deployment (BEAD) Program . The program allocates funds to each state to deliver tangible broadband benefits to historically underserved communities. 

States in the footprint of the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission stand to receive over $8.6 billion in funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, which was distributed proportionally according to need:

  • Alabama – $1.4B
  • Georgia – $1.31B
  • Florida – $1.17B
  • Mississippi – $1.2B
  • North Carolina – $1.53B
  • South Carolina – $551.54M
  • Virginia – $1.48B

Program managers assigned to each state will work to ensure that the communities with the greatest need of the program receive services. Increasing access to high-speed internet lowers barriers to social and economic support, especially for isolated communities which need access to telehealth, virtual learning, e-commerce, high-paying jobs and more.

“High-speed internet is critical in today’s world. This historic investment marks a turning point for all residents with the SCRC footprint, particularly those in underserved communities. With this investment, each state is empowered to build out the needed infrastructure to address existing gaps in coverage,” said Dr. Jennifer Clyburn Reed, Federal Co-Chair of SCRC.

This investment is part of the Biden-Harris administration’s goal to connect all Americans to high-speed internet by 2030. Ultimately, the administration is poised to invest more than $90 billion to expand equitable and affordable internet access. 

For more information on the program, visit InternetForAll.Gov.


About the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC)
The Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) is a federal-state partnership authorized in the 2008 Farm Bill to promote and encourage economic development in areas of Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and all of Florida. SCRC invests in projects that support basic infrastructure, business development, natural resources, and workforce/labor development. SCRC’s mission is to help create jobs, build communities, and improve the lives of those who reside in the 428 counties of the seven-state region.

Share this post