Economic Development in the Southeast Region

SCRC Wants To Hear From You

Latest News

Statements and Releases

Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) Announces Executive Director

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, UNITED STATES, May 5, 2023 / Today, the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) announced the hiring of its first Executive Director, Ashley …

Read More →
Statements and Releases

Statement by Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) on the President’s Fiscal Year 2024 Budget

The President’s Fiscal Year 2024 budget requests $20 million for the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC)’s essential work to combat persistent poverty. The Biden-Harris Administration today …

Read More →
Statements and Releases

Rural Partners Network: Building Stronger Futures Together

Through the Rural Partners Network (RPN), the Biden-Harris Administration is taking action to transform the way the federal government partners with rural communities to spur …

Read More →

SCRC Authorization Statute

Addressing economic and poverty issues

The SCRC was created by the 2008 U.S. Farm Bill. The concept was first introduced by university researchers working on rural development issues in 1990 at Tuskegee University’s Annual Professional Agricultural Worker’s Conference for 1862 and 1890 Land-Grant Universities.

On December 8, 2021, the U.S. Senate confirmed the SCRC’s first Federal Co-Chair, Dr. Jennifer Clyburn Reed, thereby allowing the SCRC to convene and begin other activities to serve the seven-state region.

Southeast Crescent Regional Commission Logo

Dr. Jennifer Clyburn Reed

Federal Co-Chair

Governor Henry McMaster

States' Co-Chair
Governor of South Carolina

The Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) is an economic development partnership agency of the federal government and seven state governments. SCRC’s mission is to build sustainable communities and strengthen economic growth across the Southeast Region.

SCRC’s leadership includes a Federal Co-Chair who is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate, and the Governor of the seven Southeast Crescent states. Each SCRC Governor selects an alternate to represent their state and communicate their state’s priorities to the Commission’s leadership.


Governor Kay Ivey
Alternate - Kenneth Boswell


Governor Ron DeSantis
Alternate - Katherine Russo


Governor Brian Kemp
Alternate - Christopher Nunn


Governor Tate Reeves
Alternate - Kristen Windham

North Carolina

Governor Roy Cooper
Alternate - Jim McCleskey

South Carolina

Governor Henry McMaster
Alternate - Jordan Marsh


Governor Glenn Youngkin
Alternate - Bryan Horn

Our Service Area

Seven States Unified for Progress

SCRC invests in the region’s economic future through a grant program, publishing research, and income-producing learning experiences – all to help communities seize opportunities, address economic disparity and advance prosperity.

SCRC Regional Footprint

Stay Connected

Be the first to know what's happening in the region.